Tue–Sun 11:00–18:00

Hasemauer 1, Osnabrück

Menu

Vision

The Kunsthalle Osnabrück is not a typical museum. The Kunsthalle is showing contemporary art in a church. That is art which is relevant to the present situation. The church and the monastery were build more than 700 years ago. Since 1992, you can view exhibitions by contemporary artists there. The programme of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück deals with important topics in society. Like the questions:

  • How do we live – now and in the future?
  • What is important for living together in this society?
  • Which injustices are being reflected within the arts, too?
  • And how do we reflect upon that within art and culture?
  • How can art spaces become new models of living together?

The programme of the Kunsthalle includes: Exhibitions, as well as art mediation in the form of lectures, workshops, or guided tours. By artists from all over the world.

The programme of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück is interdisciplinary. That means: Different fields are brought together in the programme. And are considered as a unit. For example, art and science. Or also architecture and dance.

The programme of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück is processual. That means: The programme develops in a process. It changes. It does not only want to provide knowledge and answers. Many questions remain unanswered. We are on a quest together.

The programme of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück is collaborative. That means: There is not one person planning the programme alone. Many people do that together. The team is part of those people. But so are the artists. And also the visitors.

To us, art mediation is just as important as the exhibitions. Meaning, how we talk about art. And who is talking, actually? The art mediator is a conversation partner for the visitors. The exhibition is the space where the conversation happens. That way, one can dive deeper into the topics. And one can start conversations with anyone about them.

The Kunsthalle Osnabrück always has an annual theme. All the exhibitions and all events in that year are related to it. In 2020, the annual theme was Disappointment, in 2021 Accessibility and in 2022 the annual theme was Romanticism. In 2023, the Kunsthalle Osnabrück celebrated its 30th anniversary.

The programme of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück deals with important topics in society. Like the questions:

  • How do we live – now and in the future?
  • What is important for living together in this society?
  • Which injustices are being reflected within the arts, too?
  • And how do we reflect upon that within art and culture?
  • How can art spaces become new models of living together?

We cannot figure that out alone. Only together with our visitors. That way, we can learn new things together.

Di–So 11:00–18:00

Hasemauer 1, Osnabrück

Menü

Selbstverständnis

Die Kunsthalle Osnabrück ist kein klassisches Museum. Die Kunsthalle zeigt zeitgenössische Kunst in einer Kirche. Also Kunst von aktueller Bedeutung. Die Kirche und das Kloster wurden vor mehr als 700 Jahren gebaut. Seit 1992 sind Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Künstler:innen dort zu sehen. Das Programm der Kunsthalle Osnabrück verhandelt wichtige Themen in der Gesellschaft. Wie die Fragen: Wie leben wir – jetzt und in der Zukunft? Was ist wichtig für unser Zusammenleben in der Gesellschaft? Welche Ungerechtigkeiten spiegeln sich auch in der Kunst wider? Und wie wird in der Kunst und der Kultur darüber nachgedacht?

Wie können Kunsträume neue Modelle des Zusammenlebens sein?
Das Programm der Kunsthalle umfasst: Ausstellungen sowie Kunstvermittlung wie Vorträge, Workshops oder Rundgänge. Von Künstler:innen aus aller Welt.

Das Programm der Kunsthalle Osnabrück ist interdisziplinär. Das heißt: Es werden verschiedene Bereichen in dem Programm zusammengebracht. Und zusammengedacht. Zum Beispiel Kunst und Wissenschaft. Oder auch Architektur und Tanz.

Das Programm der Kunsthalle Osnabrück ist prozessual. Das heißt: Das Programm entsteht in einem Prozess. Es verändert sich. Es will nicht nur Wissen und Antworten geben. Viele Fragen bleiben offen. Wir sind gemeinsam auf der Suche.

Das Programm der Kunsthalle Osnabrück ist kollaborativ. Das heißt: Nicht eine Person alleine plant das Programm. Viele Menschen tun es gemeinsam. Zu den Menschen gehört das Team. Aber auch die Künstler:innen. Aber auch die Besucher:innen.

Kunstvermittlung ist uns genauso wichtig wie Ausstellungen. Also wie über Kunst gesprochen wird. Und wer spricht eigentlich miteinander? Die Kunstvermittlung ist Gesprächspartner:in für die Besucher:innen. Die Ausstellung ist der Raum für das Gespräch. So kann man tiefer in die Themen einsteigen. Und man kann mit allen Menschen dazu ins Gespräch kommen.

Die Kunsthalle Osnabrück hat immer ein Jahresthema. Alle Ausstellungen und alle Veranstaltungen in diesem Jahr haben damit zu tun. 2020 war das Jahresthema Enttäuschung, 2021 Barrierefreiheit und im Jahr 2022 war das Jahresthema Romantik. Im Jahr 2023 feierte die Kunsthalle Osnabrück ihr 30 jähriges Jubiläum.
Die Programme der Kunsthalle verhandeln wichtige Themen in der Gesellschaft. Wie die Fragen: Wie leben wir – jetzt und in der Zukunft? Was ist wichtig für unser Zusammenleben in der Gesellschaft? Welche Ungerechtigkeiten spiegeln sich auch in der Kunst wider? Und wie wird in der Kunst und der Kultur darüber nachgedacht? Wie können Kunsträume neue Modelle des Zusammenlebens sein? Das können wir nicht alleine herausfinden. Sondern nur zusammen mit unseren Besucher:innen. So können wir gemeinsam Neues lernen.