Tue–Sun 11:00–18:00

Hasemauer 1, Osnabrück

Menu

History

1991 – 2013

In 1991, the city decided: a Kunsthalle should be founded in Osnabrück. The idea was: contemporary art should be exhibited there. Harald Szeemann was consulted on this. Harald Szeeman was a famous exhibition organizer and museum director from Switzerland. He co-developed the curatorial concept of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück. That means: he had an idea about which type of art should be exhibited at the Kunsthalle Osnabrück. And how. He advised for “international perspectives and site specific installations”. Thereby he meant: the museum should be in exchange with other museums in different countries. But it should also fit the city and its own history. The first exhibition was in 1993. Founding director André Lindhorst curated it. Until 2013, he exhibited solo shows of artists like Elvira Bach, Lothar Fischer, Günther Uecker, Markus Lüpertz or thematical group exhibitions in the exhibition space of 1.300 square meters.

2013 – 2019

From 2013 to 2019, Dr. Julia Draganović managed the Kunsthalle Osnabrück as the director. Her exhibitions were very site specific. That means: you could clearly see the links to the architecture of the building. During this time, the programme set a focus on performance art. [Performance art is a type of artistic presentation. It is a performance. On a stage. In a museum. Or outside in the city.]

Here you can find information on exhibitions and projects before 2020.

From 2014 to 2020, the Kunsthalle Osnabrück was the headquarter of the IKT, the International Association of Curators of Contemporary Art. During their annual conference, exhibition organizers of many different countries come together.

since 2020

Since 2020, Anna Jehle and Juliane Schickedanz are the directors of the Kunsthalle Osnabrück.

Di–So 11:00–18:00

Hasemauer 1, Osnabrück

Menü

Geschichte

1991 beschloss die Stadt: In Osnabrück soll eine Kunsthalle gegründet werden. Der Wunsch war: Dort sollen Ausstellungen zeitgenössischer Kunst gezeigt werden. Man kann auch aktuelle Kunst dazu sagen. 1991 wurde Harald Szeemann dazu befragt. Harald Szeemann war ein berühmter Ausstellungsmacher und Museumsleiter aus der Schweiz. Er hat das kuratorische Konzept der Kunsthalle Osnabrück mitentwickelt. Das heißt: Er hatte eine Idee, welche Art von Kunst in der Kunsthalle Osnabrück gezeigt werden soll. Und wie. Er riet zu „internationalen Positionen und ortsspezifischen Installationen“. Damit meinte er: Das Museum soll mit anderen Museen in verschiedenen Ländern im Austausch stehen. Aber es soll auch zur Stadt und der eigenen Geschichte passen. 1993 fand die erste Ausstellung statt. Gründungsdirektor André Lindhorst leitete sie. Er zeigte auf den 1.300 Quadratmetern Ausstellungsfläche bis 2013 Einzelausstellungen von Künstler:innen wie Elvira Bach, Lothar Fischer, Günther Uecker, Markus Lüpertz oder thematische Gruppenausstellungen.

Von 2013 bis 2019 leitete Dr. Julia Draganović als Direktorin die Kunsthalle Osnabrück. Ihre Ausstellungen waren sehr ortsspezifisch. Das heißt: Man konnte deutlich die Verbindungen zur Architektur des Gebäudes spüren.
In dieser Zeit wurde im Programm ein Schwerpunkt auf Performance-Kunst gesetzt. [Performance-Kunst ist eine künstlerische Darbietung. Eine Aufführung. Auf einer Bühne. In einem Museum. Oder draußen in der Stadt.]

Hier findest du Informationen zu Ausstellungen und Projekten vor 2020.

Von 2014 bis 2021 war die Kunsthalle Osnabrück Sitz der IKT, der Internationalen Kuratoren-Tagung. Bei dieser Tagung treffen sich Ausstellungsmacher:innen aus vielen verschiedenen Ländern.

Seit 2020 leiten Anna Jehle und Juliane Schickedanz die Kunsthalle Osnabrück.